posted this on December 04, 2013 15:20
What are file conflicts?
A file conflict is created when the same file is modified on two or more computers before their changes are synced. When there is a conflict, it is difficult to reconcile the differences without manual intervention. Thus AeroFS provides the functionality for a user to intervene and determine the correct outcome.
How to resolve file conflicts?
First, you will see a notification in the tray menu:
When clicked, the following dialog will open:
The panel on the left will list every single file in conflict and the panel on the right shows you each version of the selected file.
To resolve a conflict:
Open each version and compare them against the current version to identify the differences.
Edit the current version to include the changes in the other versions, or discard the changes in the other versions.
Save the current version.
Delete the other versions.
After you delete all other versions, the conflict is resolved for that file. The current version of that file on this computer will be synced to other computers belonging to you and the users this file is shared to. If you are a Viewer in the shared folder, see the following for details.
If you are a Viewer in the shared folder, the changes will only be made on this computer. These changes will not sync to other computers belonging to you, nor will the changes sync to other users.
You can back up each version at a different location using "Save As...", and you can also replace the current version by saving another version at where the conflicted file is.
When you view other versions of the conflicted file, you will be opening a read-only copy of the file. None of the changes in the other versions will be saved to disk, nor will the changes be synced to other computers.
Another way to see file conflicts:
You can aso see the file conflicts in your file browser, and clicking the menu item will open the dialog with that file selected: